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Medical Marijuana 
in Rhode Island

• 2006 - Passage of the General Laws in Chapter 21-28.6 
entitled “The Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater 
Medical Marijuana Act” 

• 2009 - Amended to allow Compassion Centers (with 99 
plant limit)

• 2014 – Amended to allow Cooperative Cultivations and 
lift Compassion Center 99 plant limit 

• 2016 – Passage of Budget Article 14, creating a new 
regulatory framework for the entire program including 
new licensed and grow tags 



Medical Marijuana Program 
at RIDOH 

• The Department of Health Medical Marijuana 
Program implements the provisions of the 
Medical Marijuana Act and regulations for 
registered patients, caregivers, and authorized 
purchases.

• The Program accepts, reviews, and approves 
patient, caregiver, and authorized purchaser 
applications and renewals.



What the Program Allows

• Patients – Can grow with a registration from RIDOH. 
Can have up to 12 mature plants/12 immature, 2.5 oz of 
dried usable*

• Caregiver – Can grow with a registration from RIDOH -
For 1 patient can have 12 mature plants/12 immature, 
2.5 oz of dried usable* / For 2 to 5 patients- 24 mature 
plants/24 immature, 5 oz of dried usable*

• Authorized Purchaser – Cannot grow marijuana. Can 
purchase form compassion centers on behalf of patients 



What the Program Allows

• Cooperative Cultivations – Grow under a license issued 
by DBR- Groups of patients or caregivers growing 
together  

- Residential Cooperative Cultivation - 24 mature 
plants/24 immature, 10 oz of dried usable*

- Non-residential Cooperative Cultivation- 48 mature 
plants/48 immature, 10 oz of dried usable* 

• Licensed Cultivators – Grow under a license issued by 
DBR. Can only supply Compassion Centers. Possession 
is limited by the class of their license and by market 
demand.



What the Program Allows

• Compassion Centers – Licensed by DBR. Possession is 
limited to what they can grow internally in their cultivation 
facility and to what they obtain from cultivators. Sell to 
patients, caregivers, and authorized purchasers.



Current Numbers 
(as of 4/25/17)

• 17,387 registered patents  (36 minor patients)

• 2,709 registered caregivers

• 119 authorized purchasers

• 3 compassion centers with 223 staff

• 7 licensed cultivators

• 16 approved cultivator applicants

• 37 cultivator applications being evaluated and processed.



Licensing Changes for Patients

• Number of caregivers allowed per patient reduced 
from two to one.  Patients may now have one 
authorized purchaser in addition to one caregiver.

• Accessibility to Compassion Centers increased from 
one per patient to three 

• License renewal term changed from two years to 
one year. Fees reduced by 50% (from $100 to $50).

• Priority processing for hospice or chemo-eligible 
applicants
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Licensing Changes for Caregivers

• Rhode Island residency now required
• License renewal term changed from two years 

to one year
• Fees reduced by 50% (from $200 to $100)
• May only grow at one location and must register 

that grow location with RIDOH



New License Type:
Authorized Purchaser (AP)

• Authorized to purchase marijuana at any 
Compassion Center for no more than one patient 
cardholder

• Not authorized to grow marijuana

• Logical transition from caregiver to purchaser     
for those who care for one patient family member, 
friend, or neighbor 



Caregiver vs. Authorized Purchaser

• Caregivers may have up to five patients
• Authorized purchasers may have only one patient
• Caregivers who have one patient, do not home-

grow, and only purchase at Compassion Centers 
may convert their license from caregiver to 
authorized purchaser

• Lower fees for authorized purchaser - $100 vs. $50
• RIDOH will waive any additional fee for caregivers 

who convert (through the end of FY 2017)



Practitioners

• Must be licensed to practice medicine in RI, or 
licensed in MA or CT with authority to prescribe 
drugs and current DEA registration

• Must establish a bona fide doctor-patient 
relationship after completing a full assessment of 
patient’s medical history (semi-annual follow-ups 
and report to PCP)

• Must complete three hours of CME every two 
years

• Must establish that patient was educated 
regarding daily “dosage” and possibly drug 
interaction (including alcohol)



Compassion Centers and Staff

• The first two compassion centers were issued RIDOH 
registrations to operate on April 4, 2013 and May 9, 
2013. The third was not ready to operate until October 
17, 2014.

• Staff (including Board members, volunteers and 
principal officers) must be registered by RIDOH 
before starting employment.

• Currently 223 staff are registered for three centers.

• Compassion Center licensing has shifted to DBR.



Current Operation 
of the RIDOH Program

• There are 4 MMP-dedicated staff members (FTEs) and 4 
senior staff who attribute a percentage of their time to the 
MMP.

• Processing times have been reduced in the past year 
from over 35 days to under 7 days  (for applications 
received with all necessary documentation).

• Cards for every license type with photos are processed at 
RIDOH’s office.

• All information obtained in licensing process is kept 
strictly confidential, in accordance with HIPAA provisions 
and our MMP regulations (RIDOH staff only).



Ellen R. Balasco, Esq.
Chief of Health Professions Licensing
Rhode Island Department of Health
ellen.balasco@health.ri.gov
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